castledawsongac logo

Please note:
The content here at is accessible to every type of browser, however, this browser appears to not support basic CSS. To view the site as it is intended please feel free to upgrade your browser from either of these. Mozilla, IE6, Opera or Netscape.
skip navigation


Classic Castledawson Comeback  - 29/08/2017

DERRY INTERMEDIATE CHAMPIONSHIP QUARTER FINAL 2017 CASTLEDAWSON 3-12 SLAUGHTMANUS 2-9 Odhrán Crumley reports from Owenbeg A late surge from Castledawson saw them book their place in the Semi Final of the Derry Intermediate Championship. Goals from Connor Taggert, Odhran Mullan and Sebastian Layden sealed the win. It took five minutes for the game to have its opening score, both sides kicking efforts into the keeper’s hands. Gavin McShane finally broke the deadlock from a free. One minute later Manus had the ball in the net, Caolan Watson finishing off a fine passing move. Shane O’Connor added another point before the North Derry men cut open the Dawson defence once again moving at blistering pace, the ball was squared to Conor McGee who finished low under the onrushing Dara Shivers. Rian Connery finally got his side off the mark with a finely stuck free kick off the ground. Gavin McShane replied with another free of his own before Kieran O’Kane broke the game line to shoot over. With twenty minutes gone Dawson got a goal of their own Odhran Mullan palming home after a direct move down the flank. On his return from a summer of football in America, Aidan Keenan entered the fray just before the break his presence a huge boost for Dawson. Aidy O’Kane jinked before unleashing a fine effort over the bar, Aidan Keenan replied with the final score of the first half. Slaughtmanus leading by four at the interval on a score line of 2-4 to 1-3. The South Derry side started the second half sharpest with Niall McNicholl pointing a close range free. Barry Lyons restored the four point advantage with a huge kick from range. Aidy Bradley and Gavin McShane traded frees before the latter pointed after a spectacular run. Paddy Henry landed a huge kick before Declan Lavery pointed after a free kick was taken short, a fast restart as his side chased the game. Aidan McElhone and Connor Taggert raised flags from considerable distances before that man Aidan Keenan levelled the sides, an eye catching score from an acute angle. Gavin McShane landed a wonder score for Manus to restore their lead; it wasn’t long before it was all square once again Conor Scullion holding his nerve to nail a free. With fifty four minutes on the clock Castledawson were awarded a penalty, Fergal Hargan black carded for the foul in the small rectangle. Kevin Duddy was on hand to dive low to save a well struck penalty, his efforts in vain as Conor Taggert bundled the rebound into the net. Aidy O’Kane cut the deficit to two before an inspirational score from Niall McNicholl put three between them. The three minutes of added time were up when Sebastian Layden blasted the ball into the net to confirm his sides place in the Semi Final. A brilliant comeback from Dawson but a score line that flattered them in the end. Castledawson: Dara Shivers, Ryan Kennedy, Niall Keenan, Brian Ludlow, Rian Connery, Paddy Henry, Jordan Shivers, Declan Lavery, Niall McNicholl, Aidy Bradley, Kevin Hardy, Kieran O’Kane, Connor Taggert, Odhran Mullan, Luke Doyle. Subs Used: Aidan Keenan, Aidan McElhone, Conor Scullion, Sebastian Layden. Scorers: Conor Taggert (1-1), Odhran Mullan (1-0), Sebastian Layden (1-0), Niall McNicholl (0-2 1f), Aidan Keenan (0-2), Rian Connery (0-1 1f), Paddy Henry (0-1), Aidy Bradley (0-1 1f), Declan Lavery (0-1), Kieran O’Kane (0-1), Conor Scullion (0-1 1f), Aidan McElhone (0-1). Slaughtmanus: Kevin Duddy, Corin McMonagle, Adrian Deery, Conor Lynch, Kyle Gallagher, Cahir Cooke, Cathal Deery, John Robinson, Barry Lyons, Mark Duffy, Gavin McShane, Shane Connor, Caolan Watson, Aidy O’Kane, Connor McGee. Subs Used: Jack McConomy, Brian Duddy, Fergal Hargan, Eddie Devine, Christopher Deery. Scorers: Gavin McShane (0-5 3f), Caolan Watson (1-0), Connor McGee (1-0), Aidy O’Kane (0-2), Shane Connor (0-1), Barry Lyons (0-1).